Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Physics and Astronomy


People

Faculty

Name Office Phone Number Email Position
Brett D. Altschul Jones 703 803-777-4985 baltschu@physics.sc.edu Associate Professor
Frank Avignone III Jones 607 803-777-6933 avignone@sc.edu Carolina Endowed Professor of Physics and Astronomy
Yaroslaw Bazaliy Jones 407 803-777-9449 yar@physics.sc.edu Associate Professor
Hui-Yiing Chang USC Sumter 803-938-3769 changhui@uscsumter.sc.edu Assistant Professor
Thomas M. Crawford Sumwalt 123A 803-777-7151 crawford@physics.sc.edu Professor
Richard J. Creswick Jones 509 803-777-3766 creswick.rj@sc.edu Professor, Graduate Director
Scott R. Crittenden Sumwalt 116 803-777-7607 crittenden@physics.sc.edu Associate Professor
Timir Datta Jones 501 803-777-2075 datta@physics.sc.edu Professor
Ralf Gothe Jones 704C 803-777-9025 gothe@physics.sc.edu Professor
Vladimir Gudkov Jones 401 803-576-5573 gudkov@sc.edu Professor
Vincente Guiseppe Jones 606A 803-777-2673 guiseppe@mailbox.sc.edu Assistant Professor
Yordanka Ilieva Jones 704E 803-777-2887 ilieva@sc.edu Associate Professor
Varsha Kulkarni Jones 505 803-777-6293 kulkarni@sc.edu Professor
Milind N. Kunchur Jones 303 803-777-1907 kunchur@sc.edu Professor
Pawel O. Mazur Jones 705 803-777-7289 mazur@physics.sc.edu Professor
Sanjib Mishra Jones 604A 803-576-5848 sanjib@sc.edu Professor
Fred Myhrer Jones 707 803-777-2087 myhrer@sc.edu Professor
Yuriy V. Pershin Jones 503 803-777-5073 pershin@physics.sc.edu Associate Professor
Roberto Petti Jones 601 803-777-6830 petti@physics.sc.edu Associate Professor
Milind Purohit Jones 609 803-777-6996 purohit@sc.edu Professor, Chair
Steven A. Rodney Jones 701 803-777-2599 srodney@sc.edu Assistant Professor
Carl Rosenfeld Jones 605 803-777-8145 lcr@sc.edu Professor
Matthias Schindler Jones 403 803-777-6089 mschindl@mailbox.sc.edu Associate Professor
Steffen Strauch Jones 706B 803-777-8197 strauch@physics.sc.edu Professor
David Tedeschi Jones 709 803-777-1132 tedeschi@sc.edu Professor
Jeffery R. Wilson Jones 603 803-777-4650 jwilson@sc.edu Associate Professor, Undergraduate Director
Yanwen Wu Jones 507 803-576-6066 wu223@mailbox.sc.edu Assistant Professor

Emeriti Faculty

Name Office Phone Number Email Position
Yakir Aharonov 803-777-8105 (main office) yakir@post.tau.ac.il USC Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Physics
C. K. Au 803-777-8105 (main office) au@sc.edu Distinquished Professor Emeritus
Gary S. Blanpied 803-777-8105 (main office) garyblanpied@gmail.com Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Ronald D. Edge Jones 711 803-777-8105 (main office) redge@sc.rr.com Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Horacio Farach Jones 711 803-777-8105 (main office) hafarach@gmail.com Distinquished Professor Emeritas
Joseph E. Johnson Jones 405 803-777-6431 jjohnson@sc.edu Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Edwin R. Jones Jones 301 803-777-6714 rjones@physics.sc.edu Distinguished Professor Emeritus
James Knight Jones 301 803-777-6046 knight@physics.sc.edu Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Kuniharu Kubodera 803-777-8105 (main office) kubodera@physics.sc.edu Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Barry Preedom 803-777-8105 (main office) preedom@physics.sc.edu Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Instructors

Name Office Phone Number Email Position
John Cook Jones 702F 803-777-5274 cookjm6@mailbox.sc.edu Instructor
Soheila Gharanfoli Jones 007A 803-576-6235 gharanfoli@physics.sc.edu Instructor

Postdoctoral Fellows

Name Office Phone Number Email Position
Hulya Atmacan Jones 602I 803-777-9062 hulya.atmacan@gmail.com Postdoctoral Fellow
Nicholas Chott NGB 803-777-8105 chott@email.sc.edu Postdoctoral Fellow
Hongyue Duyang Jones 602L 803-777-4811 duyang@physics.sc.edu Postdoctoral Fellow
Satoru Inoue Jones 711C 803-777-4318 inoue@mailbox.sc.edu Postdoctoral Fellow

Administrative Staff

Name Office Phone Number Email Position
Sam Beals Jones 404 803-777-8105 beals@mailbox.sc.edu Administrative Assistant
Kelly Gibson Jones 404 803-777-4121 gibsonkm@mailbox.sc.edu Student Services Coordinator
Beth Powell Jones 404 803-777-8104 mepowell@mailbox.sc.edu Administrative Coordinator
Lisa Saxon Jones 404 803-777-3996 lsaxon@mailbox.sc.edu Business Manager

Technical Staff

Name Office Phone Number Email Position
James Clawson Jones 404 803-777-8994 clawsonj@mailbox.sc.edu Laboratory Manager
Ray Edmonds NGB 803-777-7873 edmonds@physics.sc.edu Part-time
Robert Sproul Jones 404 803-777-7355 sproul@sc.edu Part-time

Graduate Students

Name Office Phone Number Email
Douglas Adams NGB 008 da2@email.sc.edu
Christopher Alduino NGB 008 alduino@email.sc.edu
Saba Arash Jones 307G 803-777-4318 sarash@email.sc.edu
Francie Cashman Jones 305 803-777-0516 fcashman@email.sc.edu
Bryan Chavez Sumwalt 107 blchavez@email.sc.edu
Yunjae Choi yunjae@email.sc.edu
Barnali Chowdhury Jones 602M chowdhub@email.sc.edu
Charles Dean Jones 504 deancl2@email.sc.edu
Richard DeCosta Jones 307A 803-777-8168 rdecosta@email.sc.edu
Cory Dolbashian Sumwalt dolbashc@email.sc.edu
Vincent Dowling Jones 307E vdowling@email.sc.edu
David Edwins Jones 307E dedwins@email.sc.edu
Sara FitzGerald Sumwalt 123B saraf@email.sc.edu
Jason Giamberardino Sumwalt 104 803-777-5103 jasongiamberardino@gmail.com
Colin Gleason Jones 704F gleason2@email.sc.edu
Bing Guo Jones 602N 803-777-0841 guo39@email.sc.edu
Gary Hollis Jones 704A 803-777-5753 hollis@email.sc.edu
Hao Jiang Jones 704F 803-777-5753 jiang24@email.sc.edu
Chatura Kuruppu Jones 204 ckuruppu@email.sc.edu
Kyle Lackey Jones 305 lackeyk@email.sc.edu
Lin Li Jones 706A lli@email.sc.edu
Alyssa Loos Jones 602E aloos@email.sc.edu
Ning Lu Sumwalt 125B 803-777-6419 lun@email.sc.edu
Christopher McLauchlin Jones 704B mclauchc@email.sc.edu
Rahman Mohtasebzadeh mohtaseb@email.sc.edu
Aneta Net Jones 704 netl@email.sc.edu
Krishna Neupane Jones 003A kneupane@email.sc.edu
Kyle OConnor Jones 307D oconnorf@email.sc.edu
Camilo Posada-Aguirre Jones 702B posadaag@email.sc.edu
Suraj Poudel Jones 305 803-777-8168 spoudel@email.sc.edu
Nicolas Recalde recalde@email.sc.edu
Thomas Richardson Jones 307D richa399@email.sc.edu
Justin Roberts-Pierel jr23@email.sc.edu
Matthew Seaton Jones 003 seatonm@mailbox.sc.edu
Nahid Shayesteh Moghaddam Jones 504 shayestn@email.sc.edu
Iuliia Skorodumina Jones 702C skorodum@email.sc.edu
Ken Stephenson Sumwalt 125B 706-294-0041 kss@email.sc.edu
Luis Suarez Jones 307B suarezl@email.sc.edu
Arjun Trivedi Jones 704C trivedia@email.sc.edu
Nicholas Tyler Jones 702D tylerns@email.sc.edu
Stacy Varner Jones 307B 803-777-8168 varnersd@email.sc.edu
Lei Wang Jones 502 wang387@email.sc.edu
Kevin Wilson Jones 602K kwilson@sc.edu
Clinton Wiseman NGB 09 wisemanc@email.sc.edu
Yu-Chun Yeh yyeh@email.sc.edu