Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Physics and Astronomy

Society of Physics Students

Society of Physics Students (SPS) University of South Carolina Chapter

Welcome to the University of SC chapter of SPS!  We are a student-run group doing everything fun and physics under the sun:

We have built a trebuchet, a Rube Goldberg machine and volunteered at the South Carolina State Museum. Check out our Facebook page for more fun activities!

You don’t have to be a physics major to join. If you like to tinker and are curious about how the world operates, join us and let’s find out together! 


Image Gallery 

Congratulations to the 2016 SPS team for their hard work in the Rube Goldberg competition! Our team took home the first place prize in this year's competition. Click here to check out photos from the event, along with images from previous SPS events.

 Useful Information:



     President:                Krystal Rolon (Physics)

     Vice President:        Alexander Kirby (Physics)

     Secretary:                Ryan Geiser (Engineering)

     Treasurer:                Bryan DeMarcy (Physics)

     Faculty Advisor:      Dr. Yanwen Wu (Physics)  PSC RM 507 (


Current Members:

     Zachary Davis (Physics)

     Bryan DeMarcy (Physics)

     Janus Fraley (Physics)

     Ryan Geiser (Engineering)

     Trent Hancock (Physics)

     Dakota Jones (Computer Science)

     Nabil Khan (Engineering)

     Alexander Kirby (Physics)

     Eric Miller (Math)

     Evan Parrotta (English)

     Anya Rogers (Physics)

     Krystal Rolon (Physics)

     Tyler Strampp (Engineering)


Interested in our past and recent activities?  Please like and follow us on Facebook!